Recent news

Medical marijuana expert Mark Ware interviewed in the New York Times

Dr Mark Ware

An interview with Dr. Mark Ware, Co-Director of the Quebec Pain Research Network, was published recently in the New York Times.  
In this interview Dr. Ware, who is also director of the Canadian Consortium for the Investigation of Cannabinoids and Director of clinical research of the Alan Edwards Pain Management Unit of McGill University Health Center, explains how he became interested in the medical possibilities of cannabis, and the importance of further research on this subject.

Registration is open for the MUHC’s My Toolbox Chronic Disease Self-Management Program for the April 2015 session.

Register now for the April session of ‘My Toolbox’, the highly successful MUHC chronic disease self-management program! Workshops begin late April, 2015. My Toolbox offers free 6-week workshops designed to help people learn the skills to live well with chronic health conditions including asthma, arthritis, chronic pain, diabetes, heart disease, multiple sclerosis, cancer, etc.

Unmasking Chronic Pain

Unmasking chronic pain - Association québécoise de la douleur chronique

The Chronic Pain Association of Québec, Association québécoise de la douleur chronique, has recently released an advertising insert for Quebec newspapers to raise public awareness of chronic pain.  The insert includes patient testimonies,including one by AQDC President Jacques Laliberté, and interviews with researchers, and health care professionals specialising in chronic pain treatment.  

View the insert on the AQDC website, DouleurChronique.org 

McGill's Graduate Certificate in Chronic Pain Management receives CME accreditation

graduate program in chronic pain

The Graduate Certificate in Chronic Pain Management, offered through McGill's School of Physicial and Occupational Therapy, in collaboration with the Alan Edwards Centre for Research on Pain, is an online interdisciplinary and interprofessional training program offered in French and English.  Starting in September, participants will be eligible to obtain CME accreditation from the CACME through McGill's Office for Continuing Professional Development.

Listen to pain research expert Yves De Koninck discuss advances in chronic pain management on Public radio

Yves De Koninck

Pain research expert Yves De Koninck was invited to participate in a discussion of new knowledge about chronic pain and how this will translate to better care for chronic pain sufferers on Minnesota Public Radio.  You can listen to the whole segment here: Daily circuit segment on chronic pain , or download an mp3 file of the discussion here: dailycircuitchronicpain_20150106_64.mp3

The ABC's of a good posture - advice from the physiotherapist Denis Fortier

Listen to advice from physiotherapist Denis Fortier, explaining the ABC's of a good posture in the January 4th Trucs & Cie television show (on V télé).  View the video here (in French only): ABC d'une bonne posture

Book published - Libérez-vous de la douleur, by Frédérick Dionne

Livre Libérez-vous de la douleurDestined for people suffering from chronic pain, the book "Libérez-vous de la douleur", published by Payot & Rivages, suggests a method based on mindfulness meditation and acceptance and engagement therapy to learn to live with pain every day.  

New Chronic Pain training offered in Abitibi-Témiscamingue

Many clinicians of the Abitibi-Témiscamingue region will receive training on November 29 about the chronic pain self care programs  PASSAGE and PÉGASO. The participants will come from various clinics of the region, such as the Pain Clinic of the Abitibi CSSS Les Eskers, which has recently been designated as a regional centre of expertise on chronic pain, and the Santé V.I.P. Solutions Médicales clinic.  These centers will then be able to offer these new treatment options to their patients, who will become active partners in chronic pain treatment.  

Adequate pain management saves lives

Since 2010, the MUHC has offered a Chronic Pain Self-Management Program called “My Tool Box,” which is a free six-week program designed to teach people skills required to live well with their chronic health conditions. Dr. Radcliffe-Branch, Director of the MUHC's Chronic Pain Self-Management Program, has received testimonies of people whose pain made them question the value of life itself.   The Canadian Pain Coalition's Pain Fact sheet states that the suicide risk of people living with pain is twice that of people without pain.

Advice from a physiotherapist to prevent chronic pain

Read the advice of Denis Fortier, physiotherapist at theCHU Sainte-Justine, to prevent chronic pain in the Huffington Post: Prévenir la douleur chronique (in French only)

Pages

Nouvelles récentes

Entrevue avec Mark Ware sur la marijuana médicale dans le New York Times

Dr Mark Ware

Une entrevue avec le Dr Mark Ware, Co-directeur du Réseau québécois de recherche sur la douleur, a été publiée récemment dans le New York Times.  
Le Dr Ware, qui est aussi directeur du Consortium canadien pour l'investigation des cannabinoides et directeur de la recherche clinique au Centre Alan-Edwards de recherche sur la douleur du CUSM, explique dans cette entrevue pourquoi il s'est intéressé au potentiel thérapeutique de la marijuana, et l'importance de poursuivre les études pour approfondir nos connaissances à ce sujet.  

Inscription pour la session d’avril 2015 de « l’Atelier » du CUSM : L'ABC de l’autogestion des soins

Inscrivez-vous dès maintenant pour la session d’avril  de « l’Atelier » : L’ABC de l’autogestion des soins des maladies chroniques, débutant à la fin d’avril 2015. Ce programme réussi est offert gratuitement aux personnes ayant une maladie chronique comme l’asthme, l’arthrose, la douleur chronique, le diabète, une maladie du cœur, la sclérose en plaques, le cancer, etc. Les participants apprennent des outils pour mieux gérer leur quotidien.

Démasquer la douleur chronique

démasquer la douleur chronique - Association québécoise de la douleur chronique

L'Association québécoise de la douleur chronique a publié récemment un encart dans des grands journaux du Québec afin de sensibiliser la population à la problématique de la douleur chronique.  L'encart inclut des témoignages de patients, dont Jacques Laliberté, président de l'Association de la douleur chronique, et des entrevues avec des chercheurs et professionels de la santé experts en douleur. 

Voir l'encart sur le site de l'Association québécoise de la douleur chronique DouleurChronique.org

Le certificat d’études supérieures en gestion de la douleur chronique de McGill offre maintenant des crédits CME

certificat douleur chronique mcgill

Le certificat d’études supérieures en gestion de la douleur chronique, offert par l'cole de physiothérapie et d'ergothérapie, Faculté de médecine, de l'Université McGill, en collaboration avec le Centre Alan-Edwards pour la recherche sur la douleur, offre un Certificat d'études supérieures en ligne en français et en anglais. À partir de septembre, les participants pourront de plus recevoir une accrédiation CME pour leur participation.

Le yoga pour traiter la douleur chronique chez les aînés

L'émission «Une pilule, une petite granule» à télé-Québec parle de gestion de la douleur chronique chez les aînés par le yoga.  

Discussion des nouvelles connaissances en douleur chronique avec Yves De Koninck

Yves De Koninck

Le chercheur en douleur Yves De Koninck, directeur scientifique de l'Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Québec, a été invité à participer à une discussion des nouvelles approches en traitement de la douleur, basées sur les résultats de recherche récents, à la radio publique américaine (Minnesota Public Radio).

ABC d'une bonne posture - conseils du physiothérapeute Denis Fortier

Écoutez le physiothérapeute Denis Fortier, expliquer l'ABC d'une bonne posture à l'émission du 4 janvier de Trucs & Cie (V télé).  Voir la vidéo ici: ABC d'une bonne posture

Livre - Libérez-vous de la douleur, par Frédérick Dionne

Livre Libérez-vous de la douleurDestiné aux gens souffrant de douleur chronique, ce livre publié aux Éditions Payot & Rivages propose une méthode fondée sur la méditation de pleine conscience et la thérapie d'acceptation et d'engagement (ACT) pour apprendre à vivre avec les douleurs au quotidien.

Site Web : www.liberezvousdeladouleur.com

Formation en douleur chronique offerte en Abitibi-Témiscamingue

Le 29 et 30 novembre, plusieurs cliniciens de la région de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue seront formés pour l’offre des programmes d’autogestion de la douleur chronique PASSAGE et PÉGASO. Les participants proviennent de différents milieux cliniques de la région tels que la Clinique de la douleur du CSSS Les Eskers de l'Abitibi, nouvellement désignée comme Centre d’expertise régional en gestion de la douleur chronique, et la clinique Santé V.I.P. Solutions Médicales.

Une bonne gestion de la douleur peut sauver des vies

Depuis 2010, le Centre universitaire de santé McGill (CUSM) a mis en œuvre un programme d’autogestion de la douleur chronique dans le cadre du programme l’Atelier, ABC de l’autogestion des soins, un programme gratuit d’une durée de six semaines conçu pour enseigner aux personnes atteintes de maladies chroniques à gérer leurs activités quotidiennes.  Dr Deborah Radcliffe-Branch, Directrice du programme d'autogestion de la douleur chronique au CUSM, reçoit des témoignages de patients chez qui la douleur causait une remise en question de la valeur de la vie elle-même.

Pages